General Information

The department of Cusco is located in the southeastern part of the country, covering areas in the sierra and jungle. It has borders with Arequipa, Puno, Apurímac, Junín, Ucayali and Madre de Dios. It is 76,329 square kilometers big. The capital city is Cusco (3,360 m.a.s.l) also known as "Archaelogical Capital of America" or "Navel of the World".

From Lima 1,165 Km. (724 miles) (by Nazca). From Arequipa 625 Km. (388 miles). From Puno 389 Km. (241 miles).

Access Ways
By land. Different roads communicate Cusco with other cities of the country. Departing from Lima the most suitable road is the South Panamerican highway to Arequipa and then to Cusco (1,659 Km. A 28 hour trip approximately). The other route, not recommended in the rainy season is through the Department of Ayacucho.

By train. There is a daily train from Arequipa by Juliaca (Puno), which is approximately a 20 hour trip. From Puno there are 10 hours. The highest pass on the route is La Raya, at about 4,313 m.a.s.l. between Cusco and Juliaca.

By plane. There are daily flights to Cusco and other cities from Lima. The Velasco Astete airport is 3 Km. from the city and it has bus and taxi services.

The population of the Department of Cusco is over one million, mostly from andean-half breed origin, Spanish and Quechua are spoken in the urban areas.

In the highlands the weather is cold at night and cool in the mornings. There are two seasons, a dry season and a rainy season from December to March. The yearly average temperature is 11ºC and in the jungle areas it is over 25ºC.


Peak to Peak Trail and
Wilderness Links
Peak to Peak Trail and Wilderness Links

Asociación Andinistas Cusco


Copyright © 2000-2012 Eco Aventuras Cusco SRL

Desarrollado por: WebSolutions

Inca Trail to Machupicchu, Trilha Inka Peru, Inca Trail Trek, Tours Peru, Machupicchu Cusco Peru, Tour Operator Cusco Peru